pantangAssalamualaikum & hello!
πŸ™‚

Alhamdulillah, finally I get to sit in front of my laptop. I knew raising a child is hard work, but after experiencing it myself, I now know IT IS HARD. Hard and blissful at the same time πŸ™‚
InsyaAllah, with practice, I am sure I’ll get the hang of it.

I just end my pantang period, enjoyed it for the first week, but later I did break few rules heh. The most crucial thing about pantang period is the food intake.
I would like to highlight couple of things which are controversial regarding pantang food.

1) EGGS
They say you can’t take eggs because later it will be itchy at the area that has been stitched.
Let me clear this dearies. Itchy will only happen if there is infection at the stitches area.
During my stay at the hospital, the nurses came to check daily. Then the nurse will come to the house and check for infection after a week or so.
So you will know for sure the condition of the stitches, so you will know whether you can eat eggs or not πŸ™‚ Consuming eggs don’t trigger the itchiness at first place!

2) WATER
There is this word called BENTAN in malay. It can be translated as imflammed of the nerves thus resulting in body ache. The myth says consuming a lot of water will cause bloating and ‘bentan’.
This is also not true. Upon giving birth, there are many cells that need to be repaired and regenerate. Healthy cells need a watery environment so it is essential to take lots of water to help repairing the body.
Women who are breastfeeding need to consume more water as breast milk contains almost water! Lots of water equals lots of milk supplies resulting facing happy babies πŸ™‚

During the last week of my pantang period, I cook Kari Telur without santan. It is so easy and taste good πŸ™‚ I copy the recipe from intaidapur.blogspot.my but edited the recipe to suit my taste.

SERVING: 2

INGREDIENTS A:
2 eggs
2 small potatoes
3 tbs chicken curry powder (mix with water)
1 tbs tamarind juice

INGREDIENTS B:
1 tbs chillies
1 inch ginger
3 shallots
2 cloves garlic

Instructions:
1) Boil the eggs.
2) Blend ingredients B altogether.
3) Heat the pot with a little vegetable oil. Put in the blended ingredients.
4) Mix in the curry powder.
5) Pour in the tamarind juice.
6) Pour in water and later put the potatoes in.
7) When the potatoes are cooked, put in the eggs.
8) Seasoned with salt and sugar to your taste.
FINITO!

DO try this easy recipe when you are lazy to thaw the meat πŸ™‚